Gusty

I’ve been using Ubuntu Linux for a few months and am generally happy with it. It’s not perfect, but it’s very good. I’ve become a bit of a Linux apologist lately. I find myself apologising for the fact that my laptop doesn’t easily connect to external monitors and projectors. I apologise that my microphone stopped working after I suspended. Even still, I have quite enjoyed the Linux experience and intend to continue with it.

It’s certainly the case that there is more good than bad. Eclipse runs great on Ubuntu. My dual-core Dell Latitude D820 provides more than enough processing power for me to run sometimes three or four different Eclipse workspaces without breaking a sweat.

I’m looking forward to tomorrow’s release of Ubuntu 7.10 “Gutsy Goose Gibbon” which promises to fix my little external monitor problem and more. I’ll let you know how it turns out.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gusty

  1. A cool news on news.com is that VE is part of the Gutsy screenshot reviewed: http://www.news.com/2300-1016_3-6213694-8.html?tag=ne.gall.pg
    You may wont get your external monitor stuff, but you will get VE😛

  2. Betty says:

    Hi Wayne, are you using the drivers from NVidia? The open source driver (“nv” driver) is problematic. Fortunately, NVidia provides their own drivers for linux and they are easy to install. I use Gutsy and the NVIDIA-Linux-x86-100.14.19 works well with my laptop (GeForce 8 series) with a dual monitor setup (laptop display + external). I do have problems with hibernating, though. Good luck.

    http://www.nvidia.com/Download/index.aspx?lang=en-us

Leave a Reply

