Development Resources

I’ve started an effort to rework the Development Resources wiki page. Most of this effort is concerned with providing some additional prose around the existing content to make it easier for contributors and committers to make sense of the Eclipse Development Process and navigate the many resources available.

I’ve decided to start with some discussion about the IP Process at Eclipse. It’s an understatement to suggest that there’s a lot to it, but it’s important stuff for Eclipse committers to know. I’m trying hard to keep it useful, but concise. I’m also trying very hard to keep the language simple and avoid slang to make it easier for folks whose first language is something other than English to understand. You input into what I’ve managed to complete so far would be appreciated. Am I on the right track? Is it helpful?

While I’m at it, there’s a recording of Janet Campbell’s IP for Eclipse Committers talk on Eclipse Live! that all Eclipse committers should invest 32 minutes and 45 seconds of their lives reviewing. I highly recommend it.

Update: Based on feedback, I’ve reverted the Development Resources page back to its original form and have redirected my changes to a new New Committer Handbook page.

This entry was posted in Community. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Development Resources

  1. Doug Schaefer says:

    Sorry, saw the title “Development Resources” and I thought you meant our long standing dream of having paid indendent development resources that could work on projects. I can dream, can’t I?

  2. Denis Roy says:

    Additional prose? I thought we already had enough (too many?) words in many, many documents to explain all of this. When presented with a huge wall of text, I’d submit that many people simply won’t read it.

  3. Wayne Beaton says:

    @Denis. The ultimate goal is to make it easier to digest and understand, not add more words. As I iterate through this, I hope to arrive at the right number of words…

Leave a Reply

