Screenshot of the Week: Git Repositories View

The Git Repositories view (which I tend to add to whatever perspective I’m working in) provides pretty much one-stop-shopping for most of my repository activity needs.

The Git Repositories View in Eclipse Mars

The Git Repositories View in Eclipse Mars

In this screenshot, you can see a handful of local branches that I obviously need to spend a few minutes cleaning up, and some stashed commits. Direct access to tags, references, and remotes is also provided. You can also work directly with files in the working directory if you opt to not create a project in the workspace.

I generally don’t tweak the default configuration of any software (I’m lazy that way), but I find that in Eclipse I’m starting to move the perspective launcher down to the bottom left of the window, turn the tool bar off (though not in this screenshot), and clear out views from the right side of the window (to make more room for the editor). What are your favourite tweaks?

This entry was posted in Eclipse 101, Git, Java, Mar, Screenshots and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Screenshot of the Week: Git Repositories View

  1. javahacks says:

    Which UI manager and theme are you using? Looks pretty nice in that combination. Unfortunately the default Eclipse theme under windows is still really awful.

    • waynebeaton says:

      Out of the box Gnome3 on Fedora 20.

      It’s been a while since I’ve used Eclipse on Windows. I don’t recall it being “really awful”; but that may just be a matter of personal style and taste. Or lack thereof🙂 (I’m referring, of course, to my taste, not yours)

Leave a Reply

