You must try Mylar

There’s no point in being subtle. You must try Mylar. Do it now. Today.

I have to admit that I’ve been meaning to look at Mylar for a long time, but haven’t gotten much further than the demos. I finally took the time to load it in and start getting really familiar.

You have got to look at this.

Mik Kersten did a webinar on the topic last month. I recommend that you watch the webinar, but stop after Mik covers each topic and go and try it out. You won’t be disappointed.

It does require that you change your development style just a little. You have to define and activate a task before you can feel the full benefit. It’s worth it. Plus, it integrates with Bugzilla (and JIRA and Trac) so you can pull tasks right out of there. I’ve been using the Bugzilla integration to guide me through some fixes to the PHP code on the website.

I’ve been using Mylar for about a week now and I still catch myself giggling gleefully every once in a while. Especially when I’m working in that workspace that has 100+ projects in it…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to You must try Mylar

  1. Villane says:

    Also, since version 0.9.0, Mylar can be used with other repositories besides Bugzilla, JIRA and Trac through the Generic Web Connector. For example if you’d for some reason use a phpBB forum to track issues, Mylar can show threads from that forum in the Task List, and if I’m not mistaken, will even notify you of any new threads.Support for repositories is added as templates, there are some by default, but if you know regular expressions, you could customize it for your own repository instead of using a template. Hopefully Mylar 1.0 will add authentication support for the generic connector.

  2. Eugene Kuleshov says:

    Note that for Bugzilla, JIRA and Trac you can work with your tasks offline. Reading details, comments and even post responses. Those will be synchronized when you get back online.Auth support in Web Connector is nearly done. I was able to make it work for ORTS.

  3. Iain says:

    Mylar is a great idea…The main annoying thing I’m finding is, any time I click into a JDK class, and I forget to hit the ‘pause’ button first, my focused views are suddenly full of pages of junk. Complete expanded package tree…

  4. Evan Hughes says:

    I haven’t used it with a task repository, but I have to admit I didn’t find it all that useful. It was nice to have methods I rarely look at filtered out of various views, but other than that, I didn’t see much benefit. I think it really depends on your workflow. Then again, maybe I’m not using it properly. Could you explain what it is that you like about Mylar?

  5. Wayne says:

    Hey Evan. I intend to document my experiences with Mylar over some blog entries in the coming days and weeks. I’ll try to answer your question in those blog entries…

  6. Werner Keil says:

    Mylar is really great! Not only have I used it in 2 projects for some of the largest clients successfully, it also adds great value to the more and more popular Agile way to work on projects.

Leave a comment